TADS 3 - Not fun to start with; probably just me

Granted I’m just learning and all, but compared to Inform 7, TADS is absolutely no fun to start with. Considering that Inform 7 is basically “Install then start writing”, I’m trying to cut TADS some slack. So here’s what I finally ended up with. I have a project directory and in that I have makefile.t3m:

-D LANGUAGE=en_us
-D MESSAGESTYLE=neu
-D TADS_INCLUDE_NET

-o "build/exe/app.t3"
-Fo "build/obj"
-Fy "build/sym"

-lib adv3/adv3web
-lib webui
-source tadsnet

testing.t

It took awhile and some digging to even figure out some of that stuff. LANGUAGE and MESSAGESTYLE, even though the engine indicates it has defaults, must be in place. Having defaults usually means they don’t need to be in place and if they aren’t the defaults will be used. But whatever.

My testing.t looks like this:

#include <adv3.h>
#include <en_us.h>

gameMain: GameMainDef
  initialPlayerChar = me
;

versionInfo: GameID
  name = 'My First Game'
;

firstRoom: Room 'Starting Room'
  "This is the boring starting room."
;

+me: Actor
;

Pretty much copied from one of the manuals.

When I run t3make, here’s what I get:

No idea what the problem is. This happens if I remove the Web UI stuff (adv3web) and just use the normal adv3 library in my makefile as well.

I’m doing this on a Mac, incidentally, but from what I can see that shouldn’t matter. I’m using the latest FrobTADS installation.

You need to also use the system library, not just adv3:

-lib system
-lib adv3/adv3

Note that if you use WebUI, you can only run the game in a browser with frob acting as a server (“frob -N44 game.t3”). You will not be able to run it directly in frob or in QTads. The only interpreter right now that can run web games directly is the official Windows HTML TADS interpreter.

RealNC is right; the system library (TADS.H and all the other files) are required in every TADS 3 game.