SAFTAP - Scott Adams Format Text Adventure Player: Suggs pls

Hello there.

Now that I am reasonably happy with the newly released Visionary v1.00, I will, over Christmas, turn my attention to building a Scott Adams Format Text Adventure Player (SAFTAP) for WIndows in readiness for the future Scott Adams Format Text Adventure Challenge (SAFTAC) (I say 'C’hallenge, not 'C’omp because it will be “just for fun” until such time as anything takes off with lots of interest - does that sound fair?). I think interest will remain small and “fun” as previously mentioned, perhaps to introduce people into writing text adventures before further steps into language based adventure making such as Inform.

I have the code already in Basic4PPC format (from AdvPDA) which plays SAF files and I will be chopping up and reforming it into VB6 to make a Windows executable in the next few weeks. I was tempted to code SAFTAP in Java but I’m still a noob with Java so VB6 first then might port to Java later.

My thoughts turn to what SAFTAC will look like and what options it will have.

Given that I have about three weeks on and off to knock it up before Uni starts, it will be pretty basic, so for those who are interested, what ‘basic’ look and feel options would you be looking for if you were to play Scott Adams games through a GUI?

Many thanks.

Itchy coding fingers at the ready …

Steve.

Great news! :smiley:

I’m currently using under Windows something called “ADVINT” made by Hein Pragt in 1997. It surely looked nicely back then, but it starts as a default in an fixed maximized window with no options at all for resizing either the windows or the fonts… which is both ridiculous and uncomfortable to play nowadays in current panoramic HD screens. So flexibility for handling the window would be very wellcome!

Thank you for your comments Rockersuke.

Yes, I have come across and used ADVINT previously. Hein’s website is http://www.heinpragt.nl/start/index.php