Twine room count

Big apologies, but I have no idea what I’m searching for.

I have a series of locations that the MC will be returning to and I think I may need some variable but Im not sure.

I want to set it up so that when he returns to the room the events in the room are different to his first visit (the room is the same just the events in the room are different).

Sorry, i’m new to twine.

So you want each visit to that passage to display different text, right? Which format are you using? The way you write it is different for each format.

Sorry, I did say I was new to twine!

Using Harlow 1.22

No worries!

So you want to set up a conditional using the (count:) and (history:) macros together. For instance,

(if: (count: (history:), “Start”) = 0)[You gently push open the door and peer into the darkness.](elseif: (count: (history:), “Start”) = 1)[You loop back to the front door and notice that it has been closed by an unseen hand. You push it open one more time.]

So you’re nesting the (history:) macro inside the (count:) macro and asking Twine to check the history list (which is just a list of read passages it is generating) and see if the Start passage is on there. If it isn’t, you’ll see the first bit of text: You gently push open the door and peer into the darkness. If the Start passage is on the list once (meaning, you’ve read it once), you’ll see the second bit of text: You loop back to the front door and notice that it has been closed by an unseen hand. You push it open one more time.

You can keep that list going as long as you wish with (elseif:) options. Or use operators like

(if: (count: (history:), "Start) <= 3)You finally hear Pete call out, “I’m over here!”[The silence feels like a heavy blanket.]

So that text will display (You finally hear Pete call out, “I’m over here!”) if the player has been through that passage more than three times.

You can nest anything else inside those hooks: links out of the passage, the (set:) macro, etc.