I'd really like to design an IF but...

I have no coding experience. At all.

I’ve been trying to find the easiest way to create an immersive IF where the characters and story adapt to the choices of the reader, either immediately or way down the road, as well as use implicit choices and conditional logic.

I really love Varytale and Undum’s interface of hypertext and character stats, but like I mentioned, editing all that html/javascript is a little daunting. I’ve already begun minor editing, but i’m wondering if I can achieve the same quality with something easier to use like inklewriter or twine? At least until I get more familiar with coding.

Any tips or advice is much appreciated. :smiley:

You want InkleWriter, ChoiceScript, or Twine.

inklestudios.com/inklewriter/
choiceofgames.com/make-your- … ipt-intro/
twinery.org/

If you’re looking for a system that can handle stats and such right out of the box, Choicescript might be your best bet, even though it requires more programming knowledge than Twine or inkle.

At one time I’d have recommended ADRIFT - back in the Version 4 days, it was hands down the easiest system to use for a non-programmer - but the new version is a lot less newbie friendly and isn’t very popular these days. When I decided to try my hand at something else, I found getting to grips with Inform 7 a lot easier than any of the other systems. A lot of the technical stuff went right over my head, but I managed to figure out the basics easily enough.

inform 7 is good for a non-programmer. The source reads like English and it takes zero programming skills to learn.

This should, however, be understood as ‘you need zero prior coding experience to learn I7’, not as ‘you don’t need to learn any programming skills in order to use I7.’