Inform7 vs QDK

Hi everyone,

I am new to interactive fiction (aside from playing Infidel as a 12 year old on my commodore 64, as well as titles in the Kings Quest series). I must admit that I have been inspired by the documentary “Get Lamp” and want to learn the art of authoring IF.

I began by using QDK, but quickly realized that Inform 7 is more popular. QDK seems pretty intuitive and organized with a point and click window interface, whereas Inform seems to involve a lot of coding, albeit in plain English.

So what do you think? Should I stop using QDK before I get attached? Anyone have experience with both? Thanks for any advice/opinions you can give.

Lanz

What’s QDK? I’ve never heard of it.

Quest games are not held in very high esteem. It’s difficult to say this without sounding harsh, but I have yet to find one that is even playable, let alone good.

ADRIFT offers a similar point-and-click style interface and has an active and friendly community. A few of its games have made a splash in the larger scene but in general the ADRIFT folks keep to themselves.

Both systems suffer from the fact that the full-featured client is Windows-only. That means that Mac and Linux players get a second-rate experience, and many people will shun the games for that reason alone. It also means that the prospects for a decent mobile or web-based client are rather grim.

Inform is a better choice if your goal is to get your game in front of the largest number of people.

Thanks for the advice and honest opinions. Looks like I will be joining the Inform Academy. It makes sense that the more popular/versatile the authoring software, the more support I will get along the way.

“What’s QDK? I’ve never heard of it”
-That says it all right there

Lanz

Oh, Quest, wow, haven’t heard of that in awhile. I’d recommend both Adrift and Hugo over Quest.