Wearing things in layers (new to I7)

Hello, newbie here :slight_smile:

As a first exercise I decided to try and “fix” the layered clothing model presented in “What Not To Wear” (http://inform7.com/learn/man/Rex426.html#e426).

The issues I want to fix:

1. It only works on the player (should be easy to fix, not my focus at the moment)

2. It relates every piece of clothing in existence, which seems wasteful. My idea here is to create a set of garment archetypes and establish relations between those. Then each real garment holds a reference to the appropriate archetype.

A garment-element is a kind of thing. It has a garment-element called archetype.
The hat-archetype is a garment-element.
A hat is a kind of garment-element. The archetype of a hat is usually the hat-archetype.
The beanie, the fedora and the baseball cap are hats.

And so forth. It’s a bit of a mess; I’m having trouble working with object models in Inform. My current implementation (see below) appears to work, but it’s slow. The original code also feels more sluggish that I’d expected, but mine is even worse.

I’d appreciate any suggestions for improvements :slight_smile:

[spoiler][code]
“Test” by blah

[Original “What Not To Wear”]

[Include Plurality by Emily Short.]

[ Not used yet, maybe useful at some point:
To decide whether (X - a value) is sibling to (Y - a value): no.
To decide whether (X - a value of kind K) is sibling to (Y - a value of kind M): if K is M, yes; no.
]

Section 1 - Overlying and Underlying

[We start by borrowing some of the same ideas from the Bogart example, but we’re also going to make a kind called “garment-element”. This kind will include both garments (objects of clothing) and body parts (things that can be covered by clothing); using it allows us to restrict the way our underlying and overlying relations apply, which will make them a bit faster at run-time.]

A garment-element is a kind of thing. A garment-element has a garment-element called archetype.