How to add an object to the scope in Inform 7

I have no idea if I am using correct words here. I am a programmer but as I recently became very intrigued by Interactive Fiction, I decided to attempt to learn how to use Inform 7.

I am working on a very small game, mostly to be a test to make me learn more about how Inform 7 works.
What I want to do right now, is to have certain objects, that the player can only carry one of at a time.

(In the game, you are an ant; You can only carry one large object at a time).

Right now I have the following code:

a haulable object is a kind of thing.
instead of taking a haulable object, say "That is far too big to take with you. You might be able to haul it on your back, however.".

The players back is a supporter.
understand "haul [something]" or "carry [something] on back" or  "haul [something] on back" or "carry [something] on my back" or  "haul [something] on my back" or "put [something] on back" or "put [something] on my back" as hauling.
Hauling is an action applying to one thing.
instead of hauling the noun:
	if the noun is not a haulable object:
		say "[the noun] is big nor heavy, and does not need to be carried on your back.";
	else:
		if the players back encloses something:
			say "Your back is full.";
		else:
			say "Channeling all your strength, you put [the noun] on your back.";
			now the noun is on the players back;

to say the hauled item: say "[list of the things on the players back with definite articles]".

understand "stop hauling" as stop-hauling.
Stop-hauling is an action applying to nothing.
instead of stop-hauling:
	if the players back encloses nothing:
		say "You did not drop anything, as you were not hauling anything on your back.";
	else:
		say "You stop hauling [the hauled item] and drop it to the ground.";
		repeat with the item running through things on the players back:
			if the location is a tree-room:
				say "[the noun] starts plunging downward by the pull of gravity.";