I feel fairly foolish asking this...

HOwever, I am new to Inform 7. I have designed several IF games under ADRIFT, but am having trouble switching (mentally) from that sysem.

Trying to write about a bench that can be sat upon but will turn a message saying you can’t whenever you try. I have tried BEFORE, INSTEAD, etc. Have tried with general types of things, etc. Here’s the butchered code. Anyway, I appreciate the guidance. Am back at this and old.

small bench is in foyer. “A small bench is here.” Understand “small” as bench. Small bench is enterable supporter.

sitting is an action applying to one thing. Understand “sit on [something]” as sitting.

before examining bench:
say “It is the kind of bench that you might sit on to remove your shoes, perhaps after a rainy or snowy day.”;
stop the action.

instead of sitting:
say “We don’t have time for that. Who are you, Mr. Rogers?”;
stop the action. [why doesn’t this work?]

You’ll want the “entering” action.

Instead of entering the small bench: say "We don't have time for that."

The preexisting grammar for the entering action supersedes your new grammar for sitting.

When the player types “sit on bench”, the game tries entering the bench, and your instead rule doesn’t fire. You can use the “actions” debug command to see this.

To solve the issue, you can either go with the flow and write your rule in terms of the entering action:

Foyer is a room.

small bench is in foyer. "A small bench is here." Understand "small" as bench. Small bench is enterable supporter.

before examining bench:
	instead say "It is the kind of bench that you might sit on to remove your shoes, perhaps after a rainy or snowy day."

instead of entering bench:
	say "We don't have time for that. Who are you, Mr. Rogers?"

Test me with "x bench / sit on bench"

or you can disassociate “sit on [something]” from the entering action and associate it with your new sitting action (see §17.3. Overriding existing commands):