Closable containers inside closable containers

Hi there!

I’m really new to writing IF with Inform 7. I have started a project and I need a bit of help with one specific and easy thing:
I have an openable container containing several other openable containers. I want to implement an instead rule for closing the big container:

for each item in the big container: if the item is open, say "You need to close [the item] first, [the list of items in the container] might fall out.[line break]"
I want to print these messages instead of closing the big container until everything inside is closed.
Here’s a bit of source code you can use:

The schoolbag is an openable wearable closed container. Some schoolbooks, some exercise books, a pencil case, a ruler, a lunchbag, some money and a drinking bottle are in the schoolbag. The pencil case is an openable closed container. Some crayons, a pen, some ink cartridges and a timetable are in the pencil case. The lunchbag is an openable closed container. A sandwich is in the lunchbag. The drinking bottle is an openable closed container in the schoolbag. A quantity of water is in the drinking bottle.
Maybe add some tweaks later, just so you know I might get back with another question.
Thanks for your help! :slight_smile:

Regards, Timo

[code]Definition: a container is non-empty if it contains something.

Instead of closing the schoolbag when the schoolbag contains a non-empty open container (called the hazard): say “[The list of things in the hazard] would spill out!”.[/code]

Ah ok, that’s one way to do it - thanks! :slight_smile:
However it doesn’t quite achieve what I needed because this only prints a list of the things in ONE of the containers, no matter how many of them are open. I nevertheless found out a way to achieve what I needed: