Using multiple items as one topic in a table of replies

Hi there,

I am fairly new to using tables in Inform 7 and I was wondering how one can use items as topics, so that the player can “ask man about golden watch” and get a reply. I figured I can use the [thing] token:

[code]Table of Answers
Topic Answer
“[bourbon]” “Yes, you are encouraged to drink as much as you like”
“[crystal glass]” “I filled it up for you, I can fill it up again”
“[bedside table]” “Mi casa es tu casa”
“[refrigerator]” “Mi queso es tu queso”
“[drawer]” “Mi casa es tu casa”
“[cupboard]” “Mi casa es tu casa”

Instead of asking Colin about a topic listed in the Table of Answers:
say “’[Answer entry],’ Colin replies.”[/code]
The good thing with this is that, if I have already included an

Understand "fridge" as the refrigerator

I can “ask Colin about fridge” and still get the right answer.

The problem is that I don’t know how to combine multiple items in order to get the same answer (eg “Mi casa es tu casa”) without repeating the reply for each different item row. The structure “topic/topic/topic” or “topic” doesn’t seem to work with [tokens].

I am also wondering whether I could use more general rules, along the lines of:

Instead of asking Colin about a container

Any advice?

Thanks,
Giannis

I think you could add another column of “things”, then “instead of asking Colin about a thing in the table of answers…”

I’m not the table guy, but that might work.

Also check out Eric Eve’s “Conversation Responses” extension which lets you write “After quizzing bob about the” “After imploring bob for the…” to see if it might help you. It rearranges the asking about and telling about actions, so make sure it doesn’t destroy the work you have.

Mmm, I tried it but it doesn’t work. I think what complicates things is that “ask it about” refers to “some text” as the second noun and not a thing.

I did try this, though, which doesn’t give an error message, but doesn’t work either:

[code]Table of Answers