TADS 3 Wiki Coming soon...

Howdy,

I’d just like to take a moment to announce that I will be hosting a wiki site about the TADS 3 programming language (similar to my hugo wiki).

As I’m very new to using Tads, it’s going to be slow going. I’ve still got a few things to set up on the back end, but soon the wiki will go live.

The site is at http://tads3.gerynarsabode.org

(to get a taste of what I hope it will be like, check out http://hugo.gerynarsabode.org)

It will probably be slow going depending on the help (if any) I get on creating pages but I hope to make it a useful resource for those of us wanting to learn how to use Tads 3, the standard adv3 library and/or the adv3Lite library by Eric Eve,

The more, the merrier! This could be a great resource. Of course, Eric Eve has written an enormous amount of documentation for both T3 and T3lite – but even so, I’m sure people will benefit from additional examples, tips, explanations of pitfalls, the perspective and techniques of a different author, and so on.

I’ve written several games in T3. Right now I’m learning T3lite (that is, adv3lite) while writing a new game. They’re rather different systems. The code syntax is all identical, because the TADS 3 compiler is the same – but the usages are rather different. I hope you’ll include a wiki page that gives details on the differences, and perhaps some mild advice on which to choose.

I would also suggest a page on writing TADS 3 games on the Mac. It can be done, and basic instructions are included in the docs, but you kind of have to know where to find the instructions. A dedicated page on this topic would be useful.

I’ve already created a graphic image and a template on the wiki to mark things that are standard lib (adv3) and adv3Lite lib. working on setting up some other templates and syntax highlighting for TADS code. Don’t know how much I’d be able to do for Mac, but I use Linux and I believe that FrobTads isn’t horribly different on either system (Mac/Linux)