error copying resource file when compiling for Web play

Hi all, I’m a TADS newbie, and I’m trying to compile my game for Web play. Going by the System Manual (tads.org/t3doc/doc/sysman/webui.htm), I’ve made a separate t3m file:

-D TADS_INCLUDE_NET
-D LANGUAGE=en_us
-D MESSAGESTYLE=neu
-Fy obj -Fo obj
-o lookaroundthecorner.t3
-lib system
-lib adv3/adv3web
-lib webui
-source tadsnet
-source shufflecomp
-res GameInfo.txt

When I run t3make -f shufflecomp-web, it stops after this:

add_resources -> lookaroundthecorner.t3
	+ /usr/local/share/frobtads/tads3/lib/webuires (webuires)
lookaroundthecorner.t3: error copying resource file "/usr/local/share/frobtads/tads3/lib/webuires"

That path is a directory, rather than a plain file; is that what’s causing the problem? Any ideas how to fix this?

I’m using TADS 3.1.3 on OS X.

I can’t see anything wrong with the makefile. What version of OS X are you on?

Can you zip the entire game directory (clean it up from build files first, so that only the sources and makefiles are left) and send it my way?

(I’m the maintainer of FrobTADS; you can run “frob -h” to get my email address; it’s printed at the end of the output.)

I’ve uploaded it to GitHub: github.com/dougo/shufflecomp

Let me know if you still want me to mail you the zip.

I’m on OS X 10.9.2. Here’s the frob version info:

bash-3.2$ frob --version
FrobTADS 1.2.3
TADS 2 virtual machive v2.5.17
TADS 3 virtual machine v3.1.3 (mjr-T3)

Let me know if you need any more info. Thanks!

OK, just tested it in OS X 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8. All work fine. I’ll need to download and install 10.9.

I’ve now set up an OS X 10.9.3 installation. I can’t reproduce the issue. Your game builds correctly, including the web version, and everything is working just fine :-/

Maybe somehow the FrobTADS installation is broken. Try installing again. I assume you’re using the official OS X installer from here:

tads.org/frobtads.htm