Is there any good in-depth do's and dont's guide for IF?

I’m still pretty new to making IF, and I’ve looked around for something like this and can’t find anything of that nature. Could anyone point me to something they find useful?

Many thanks :slight_smile:

1 Like

Here’s a classic for parser-based adventure-type games in particular: http://ifarchive.jmac.org/if-archive/info/Craft.Of.Adventure.pdf

Thank you!

You may also find some of the things linked here useful.

Thanks for that too!

I’m surprised the IF Theory Reader hasn’t been mentioned. It’s not tutorials but it pretty thoroughly explores things that work and things that don’t. Be warned that there’s a LOT of information in it. You don’t need to read it cover to cover though, I tend to just pick out a chapter of interest.
lulu.com/gb/en/shop/kevin-ja … 51190.html

it’s a collection of old IF articles, one of the main being the famous Crimes Against Mimesis

after reading it, you may want to play this interesting parody by Adam Thornton:

iplayif.com/?story=http%3A%2F%2F … mimesis.z5

which also parodies Jigsaw and other IF

A few years ago when I realised I didn’t know too much about how to write IF, I went through a whole lot of game reviews and picked out useful comments. The result was this collection:

mirror.ifarchive.org/if-archive/ … IFGems.zip

As a relative newcomer trying to learn how to make Inform do what I want as well as writing a story and game to boot, I’ve just read a few pages and think it is wonderful and very useful. I wonder if anyone would consider doing IF Gems 2: The Next Ten Years?

IF Gems is my favorite collection and has been super useful. If someone took up updating it I would be very happy.

a hardy seconding of that

Thanks!