Is user input possible?

I am extremely new to TADS 3 and I would like to know if there is a way to convert user input to a variable. For example; in the test game I’m creating I have a guard at a restringing counter asking the player character what their name is. What I want to do is have their name to be used throughout the rest of the game in conversations. Such as “Nice to see you (x).” I can’t find it anywhere in the manual or online.

I’m assuming you are using the default adv3 library, not Eric Eve’s alternate adv3Lite library.

Try this, at the place in your code where you want to capture the input:

/* Ask for input and store it in a variable. */
local responseText = readMainCommand(rmcCommand);

That may be all you need. The rmcCommand parameter makes the input routine believe you are asking for a regular command, but that won’t make a difference here.

A slightly more elaborate version (which might actually be good style) would show a different input prompt for the purpose of asking for the player’s name, informing the player that normal command parsing doesn’t apply. This would go as follows:

First, somewhere in your code in a place appropriate for static definitions, add this:

/* Define a new input prompt type. */
enum rmcName;

modify libMessages

mainCommandPrompt(which)
{
    /* When asking for a name, display a >> prompt. */
    if (which == rmcName) "\b&gt>";
    /* Otherwise, display the regular prompt. */
    else inherited(which);
}

;

And then, at the place where you want to ask for a name:

/* Ask for input, telling the input routine to display the proper prompt for a name. */
local responseText = readMainCommand(rmcName);

Would I put it where I’ve listed the NPC that asks for the name or would it be its own separate code? I also keep getting this errror;
“A property name was expected in the object definition, but the compiler found
“local” instead. Check for a missing semicolon at the end of the object