story driven if and other questions

I’m relatively new to IF but i think i’ve found a hobby that will hunt me for decades.

So far i’ve played several works of IF (dreamhold, photopia, galatea, my angel) These where great. well dreamhold wasn’t great but more like nice, but it did teach me alot about how to play IF so it’s great because of that reason. I’ve played a few other games as well that i didn’t like that much but i respect the effort people put into them to much to insult them. The games where free of charge and i haven’t written anything so who am i to judge them.

I would really like to continue to play more IF but i do have a few questions that bother me.

I like story driven IF with few puzzles the most, maybe this will change when i’m more familiar with the way IF works (40% of the time i’m giving imput the parser doesn’t understand) but for the moment this is the way i like it. So I’m wondering if i can easily search for IF works with this criteria.

My second question(s) is that i often wish i could read an earlier part of my session again for reference but i have no idea how to do this. Most of my experience is with Zcode. is there a way to do this? is this different for other formats? does it depend on the interpreter? I would love to know.

and my last question that isn’t that IF related.

I just got a psion mx 5 (it’s old i know but it was cheap) to play IF when I’m traveling, but because english isn’t my first language and most IF is english I could really use an english dictionary or a good translater (english to dutch). If you know a good program for the psion that could help me i would be gratefull.

Welcome pzler. You may know about Baf’s Guide and the IFDB; the former for the advanced search and the latter for the ‘also play’ and recommended list functions. Give Fate and The Baron a try (or De Baron in Dutch!).

Most of the newer players have a script command; you might have to type script or script on for example.