Exploring the 'Best Games': Birdland, by Brendan Hennessy

By mid-2015, I had played all 4 of Hennessy’s 2013 Twine games, and I had realized that he was one of the very best Twine authors out there, with Michael Lutz and Porpentine. I was surprised that he had released 4 great games in a year and then stopped.

I was beyond excited when they entered IFComp in 2015. And I was right to be excited; as soon as I started playing, I realized that this was the best Twine game I had ever played. Not just in terms of personal enjoyment, but also in terms of pure craft.

It has attracted attention outside of IFCOMP and the XYZZY’s. Tens of thousands of people have shared Tumblr notes about it, and there is fan art and shipping and so on.

It is set in a girls camp with a 14 year old protagonist who has dreams about strange bird-humans every night, and has to deal with the boredom and awkwardness of camp in the day time.

What’s so good about it?

==Writing==

The writing is just outstanding. The author sets up contrast in as many ways as possible, for instance by having the protagonist act out several outrageous cliches like Cowboys or pirates and have the birds comment on it in stilted and precise English. The writing constantly sets up your expectations and twists it in humorous ways; it reminds me of the stoey that Walt Disney payed Snow White’s animators a bonus for every gag they could come up with; Hennessy would have made a lot. While most xyzzy winners have good writing for an IF game, Birdland has writing that is good among all literature.

==Story==