Sarah's Reviews

Hi, my name is Sarah Johnson Adams and I’ve been playing IF for about six years now. I was born in the late 1980s and so missed out on a lot of the ‘classic’ games first time round but have played some of them since. My first introduction to text games was through the Quest website where I got a taste for shameless puzzlefests. I eventually discovered the wider world of contemporary interactive fiction and began playing games in Inform as well. I only began playing and judging IF Comp games three years ago so I suppose I’m a relative newcomer to the process, but I have very much enjoyed playing the entries and thought I would like to contribute some reviews this year. I’ve never written a game though I have playtested a few, including last year’s competition winner ‘Brain Guzzlers From Beyond!’.

A few disclaimers before I begin posting reviews. Firstly, while evocative story-telling, interesting concepts and vivid and varied characters are obviously very important to me, they are not my primary motivation for playing text games. What I am most interested in is the puzzle-solving aspects of a game. For this reason I tend to prefer parser games, though I try to remain open-minded. Also, because I use a screen-reader there are some games that I just can’t play or that I can’t play properly. I’ve figured out ways around playing most Twine games now but there are some formats that I still can’t access, so, obviously, that will prevent me from reviewing some of the entries. Finally, I am struggling to apply the hidden spoiler text to my posts so I will try to avoid spoilers and to keep the reviews more general.

Fair by Hanon Ondricek