BillyJaden's Reviews

Hello there! :stuck_out_tongue:

I stumbled over my first IF game half a year ago so I am fairly new to the genre. I am also from germany and english is not my native language, although I love to write and speak this melodic language as often as I can. Sometimes I tend to write more for the sake of melody than the sake of meaning, but I will restrain myself in these reviews. Currently I am still studying media science, and I am fascinated by interactive fiction - because I am a writer and a gamer, I see these two layers transformed into a new one with interactive fiction (though IF is of course not a new genre) - but probably it is with Twine and all the new tools for people to create games and stories even without knowledge of programming etc.
I did write a Twine story for this year’s competition, but I also want to review some of the other games. So here it is. :slight_smile:

16 Ways To Kill a Vampire at McDonalds by Abigail Corfman is a short game you can play fairly long.

It seems to me everyone is reviewing 16 Ways To Kill a Vampire at McDonalds, probably because it is on top of the entry list (if you don’t randomize it), and so I thought I’d take a shot at this little game for my first review. That be said, I liked 16 Ways To Kill a Vampire at McDonalds.
Mostly. Unfortunately I’m not a huge fan of these games where you have to find clues and click them together to succeed. I’m a story and atmosphere addict which is why this game didn’t get me really hooked.

[spoiler]WHAT IS THE GAME ABOUT

16 Ways To Kill a Vampire at McDonalds is exactly what it says in the title. After a short prologue (which I liked very much) the story starts in a McDonald’s branch where you have to kill the only other customer – a vampire. The prologue isn’t important to the games outcome (which I didn’t like very much), so you can skip it when you restart the game.

And you will restart the game a lot.