intfiction.org

The Interactive Fiction Community Forum
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:44 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:05 pm
Posts: 1009
Thanks for figuring this out, this is really good work.

_________________
-My IFDB name is Mathbrush.

Anyone can make interactive fiction; if you've made a game and need a review on IFDB, let me know!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:56 pm
Posts: 5507
Indeed. I just stopped looking at it after I got it to work on my Mac, so I'm happy it's now usable by more people.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:09 pm
Posts: 276
Success!

One glitch: though I ran "npm install --save-dev bestzip" successfully (or at least with no error messages), when I run makedist.py I'm getting this error at the very end:

Code:
Zipping up: dist\Anchorhead-win32-ia32 to Anchorhead-1.0.0-win32-ia32 (unwrapped)
'bestzip' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
Zipping up: dist\Anchorhead-win32-x64 to Anchorhead-1.0.0-win32-x64 (unwrapped)
'bestzip' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.


However, I'm assuming that bestzip's job is just to zip up everything in the dist directories, which I can certainly do on my own, manually. Is this assumption correct? Is there anything else that bestzip is meant to do (e.g., does it create a self-extracting executable rather than just a ZIP file, or create registry entries, or something like that?)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:51 pm
Posts: 746
Location: Chicago, Illinois, USA
npm install -g bestzip

sorry - should be global - and you might have to reopen your command window

although you can just zip the dist\... folder yourself using the built in windows Send to Compressed Folder right-click menu item

_________________
David C.
http://www.plover.net/~dave/blog
http://www.ifpress.org

"It boots nothing to avoid his snares, for they are ever beset by other snares." - The shade of High Lord Morham, The Wounded Land - Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:51 pm
Posts: 746
Location: Chicago, Illinois, USA
There are some tools to turn an Electron app into a Windows installer. If I poke around the gulp tasks, I might look into that too.

_________________
David C.
http://www.plover.net/~dave/blog
http://www.ifpress.org

"It boots nothing to avoid his snares, for they are ever beset by other snares." - The shade of High Lord Morham, The Wounded Land - Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:51 pm
Posts: 746
Location: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Well creating an installer is easy, once you have the dist folders....

REF: https://github.com/electron/windows-installer

- create buildexe.js file based on code snippet below in your /dist folder
NOTE: The .exe has to match what's in the dist folder
- npm install -g electron-winstaller
- from command line (I'd recommend as Administrator):
node buildexe.js
- results will be in dist/release including msi and exe installers (and a nuget installer, but who cares)

As noted in the doc, if you plan to sell your app, you should purchase a code-signing cert and sign the msi/exe before distributing

buildexe.js
Code:
var winInstaller = require('electron-winstaller');

resultPromise = winInstaller.createWindowsInstaller({
    appDirectory: './shadow-win32-ia32',
    outputDirectory: './release',
    authors: 'Ian Finley & Jon Ingold',
    exe: 'shadow.exe'
  });

resultPromise.then(() => console.log("It worked!"), (e) => console.log(`No dice: ${e.message}`));

_________________
David C.
http://www.plover.net/~dave/blog
http://www.ifpress.org

"It boots nothing to avoid his snares, for they are ever beset by other snares." - The shade of High Lord Morham, The Wounded Land - Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:55 pm
Posts: 159
Hi guys, I'm trying to build this too, and I got this error in Win 10 x64:

Code:
npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: appdmg@^0.4.0 (node_modules\appdmg):
npm WARN notsup SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: Unsupported platform for appdmg@0.4.5: wanted {"os":"darwin","arch":"any"} (current: {"os":"win32","arch":"x64"})
npm ERR! Windows_NT 10.0.15063
npm ERR! argv "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\node.exe" "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\node_modules\\npm\\bin\\npm-cli.js" "install"
npm ERR! node v6.11.4
npm ERR! npm  v3.10.10
npm ERR! code ELIFECYCLE
npm ERR! lectrote@1.2.9 preinstall: `run-script-os`
npm ERR! Exit status 1
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed at the lectrote@1.2.9 preinstall script 'run-script-os'.
npm ERR! Make sure you have the latest version of node.js and npm installed.
npm ERR! If you do, this is most likely a problem with the lectrote package,
npm ERR! not with npm itself.
npm ERR! Tell the author that this fails on your system:
npm ERR!     run-script-os
npm ERR! You can get information on how to open an issue for this project with:
npm ERR!     npm bugs lectrote
npm ERR! Or if that isn't available, you can get their info via:
npm ERR!     npm owner ls lectrote
npm ERR! There is likely additional logging output above.

npm ERR! Please include the following file with any support request:
npm ERR!     E:\Aventuras\lectrote-lectrote-1.2.9\npm-debug.log



I'm not in a hurry for this, and I though in just abandon. Because this error seems like a more primordial problem than the failure to import Quixe and such. So, I have no idea how to proceed. My problem doesn't seem equal to any of this threads. Anyway, I've attached the debug file.


Attachments:
npm-debug.log [27.72 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times
Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:51 pm
Posts: 746
Location: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Ruber Eaglenest wrote:
Hi guys, I'm trying to build this too, and I got this error in Win 10 x64:


Did you update your make file with the code I posted (on this thread) for Windows? The out-of-the-box script doesn't run on Windows.

_________________
David C.
http://www.plover.net/~dave/blog
http://www.ifpress.org

"It boots nothing to avoid his snares, for they are ever beset by other snares." - The shade of High Lord Morham, The Wounded Land - Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:55 pm
Posts: 159
Yes, I think. Well, I'm still trying to install Lectrote using npm.

I've modified the package.json file with this:

Code:
 "scripts": {
    "start": "electron .",
    "preinstall": "run-script-os",
    "preinstall:macos": "if [ -f quixe/LICENSE ]; then echo Quixe already installed; elif [ -d .git ]; then git submodule init; git submodule update; else git clone https://github.com/erkyrath/quixe.git; fi",
    "preinstall:darwin": "if [ -f quixe/LICENSE ]; then echo Quixe already installed; elif [ -d .git ]; then git submodule init; git submodule update; else git clone https://github.com/erkyrath/quixe.git; fi",
   "preinstall:x64": "if EXISTS quixe/LICENSE ( echo Quixe already installed) else (if EXISTS .git ( git submodule init; git submodule update; ) else (git clone https://github.com/erkyrath/quixe.git; fi)",
    "preinstall:win32": "if EXISTS quixe/LICENSE ( echo Quixe already installed) else (if EXISTS .git ( git submodule init; git submodule update; ) else (git clone https://github.com/erkyrath/quixe.git; fi)"
  },


But I get the error:

Code:

npm ERR! Failed at the lectrote@1.2.9 preinstall script 'run-script-os'.



But finally managed to compile the thing using the command "npm install darwin x64 win32".

Now, let's try to package the game.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:55 pm
Posts: 159
Nah, it is of no use. I've made all changes in the scripts you mentioned in this thread. The main problem I'm getting is that dist directory keeps getting empty. npm install runs without problems, but fails to fill dist with the proper files, and so, the packager fails.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group