Magnetic Scrolls files on iOS Frotz?

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to playing IF in the modern age, so I hope my question is not too daft and that I am posting in the right forum.

I wanted to know if it is possible to open Magnetic Scrolls (The Pawn, etc…) story files in the iOS version of Frotz? I haven’t had much luck with that. If not, is there an interpreter that allows you to replay these oldies on an iPad?

Thanks in advance,

Alfy

I do not see an iOS Magnetic Scrolls interpreter mentioned anywhere. (On the App Store or off of it.)

Theoretically, you might be able to install Java on iOS, but only if it’s jailbroken. And if that succeeds, then theoretically, you might be able to get a Java-based Magnetic Scrolls interpreter to work, like JMagnetic. I have never tried either of these things in practice, however. Even if they worked, I would expect the performance to be not great.

Thanks for the answers! I had the silly hope of getting it to work under Frotz, as file names seemed reasonably close (Frotz requires .z8 and my The Pawn story file is .z80). I guess I’ll have to settle to play The Pawn on the computer and Frotz and Lost Tales of Infocom on iOS.

It was certainly not an irrational assumption, but FYI, Z8 is the latest in a series of virtual ‘z-machine’ game software formats, whereas Z80 was an unrelated type of real hardware microprocessor that just happened to also have a ‘Z’ in it.

EDITED TO ADD: There are no z-machines above ‘Z8’. At least, no ‘official’ Infocom-related ones. I have read about people working on their own homebrew z-machines, but modern Inform games often leave the whole z-machine behind and opt for the greatly expanded Glulx virtual machine instead, which is also supported by iOS Frotz. (But not by Frotz for other platforms. Far as I know iOS Frotz is the only Frotz that supports the Glulx machine as well as the z-machine, but I could be out of date on this.)