intfiction.org

The Interactive Fiction Community Forum
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:40 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: List Control by Eric Eve
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 8:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:57 am
Posts: 532
This topic is for discussions related to List Control by Eric Eve


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:58 am
Posts: 233
Location: London, England
Hi all,

I'm struggling with this extension a bit. I've had to alter part of the code, to prevent an error to do with having kinds at the top of the Table of Table Types. The original code ran:

Code:
Table of Table Types
tabname      index   tabtype
a table-name      0   a table-type


I've changed it to:

Code:
Table of Table Types
tabname      index   tabtype
--      0   --


It now runs fine, but I get a run-time error when the table-type is set to shuffled-list and one of the rows has been blanked out. I'm now trying to modify the extension to cope with blanked out rows. Would anyone be able to help me with this?

_________________
My IF Blog: https://jjguest.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:34 pm
Posts: 5384
Location: Burlington, VT
What happens if you change it to this?

Code:
Table of Table Types
tabname (a table-name)      index   tabtype (a table-type)
--      0   --


I haven't checked this and I forget which is the new way and which the old way, but I know the updated way of specifying the kind for table columns that can't be inferred from their entries has switched back and forth between putting the kind in the first row and putting it in parentheses next to the column name. It seems to me that if you delete it completely, like you did to make it compile, then Inform won't be able to infer the kind at all, and that will cause trouble. So you might try the other way.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 11:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:58 am
Posts: 233
Location: London, England
Ah, so that's what the error message was telling me to do. I didn't quite understand it. That works, but just replacing the names with double-dashes gets it running again.

_________________
My IF Blog: https://jjguest.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group