Vorple Multimedia by Juhana Leinonen

This topic is for discussions related to Vorple Multimedia by Juhana Leinonen

Juhana;

To include a piece of music, one uses a phrase like:
Release along with a file of “Theme” called “El Carretero.mp3”.

Can one use “Theme” in the play music or play sound statements?
If so, what exactly is the syntax?

For playing the sounds you have to use the filename.

play music file "El Carretero.mp3";

Or, if you want the music to loop,

play music file "El Carretero.mp3", looping;

Hi Juhana,
I’m just getting started with Inform 7 and have a couple of questions for you:

1. I read in the Inform 7 documentation that playback of audio files is not supported in macOS. Is that still true, even with Vorple Multimedia?
  2. I see that VM supports GIFs. Does it support animated GIFs? If it did, that would be a great way to play a short, repeating video clip in the game, like a levitating sword slowly rotating in the air, or something like that.
    Thanks, and thanks also for creating the Vorple extensions!
    Scott

Normal VM limitations don’t apply, because everything is shown and played using the web browser directly. So audio files and animated gifs are ok.

The only caveat is that most browsers don’t allow audio autoplay, so sounds and music can be played only after the player has typed their first command or clicked something on the page.

2 Likes