Question on copyright.

There’s a lot of things i don’t know.

First, I don’t know if this is the right place where to post such a question.

Second: let’s pretend I’d like to make a fan-game based on a very famous character. I’m not sure I want to enter a Comp of sorts, but I’m wishing to release it to the public. What’re the problems I may get myself into?

Let’s say this: I’m making Questprobe 4: the Incredible Iron Man. What are the chances I get sued by Scott Adams and Marvel itself?

It would ridiculously look like fan fiction and the game would be so much out of this era… Still… I know big corps tend to be a lil bit nervous on such things.

Anyone has any experience on the matter?

(I am not a lawyer.)

Fan-fiction IF is not exactly a new idea. There have been Star Trek, Star Wars, and Dr Who games lying around on the Archive since forever. And, more recently, Muggle Studies. (ifdb.tads.org/viewgame?id=o94jb9tkmb7w4y46)

Copyright is not a concern unless you copy sections of text from the original work.

Trademarks are, in theory, more of a problem. Iron Man is a trademarked character. However, the big media companies have generally been willing to ignore fan works if they’re low-profile and non-commercial. (Again, Muggle Studies caused no trouble.)

Warning: I’m not a lawyer.

Suing is expensive. Unless they want to make an example of you (they might, who knows) they’ll send you a cease and desist first. Building a creative work on another company or person’s IP is illegal outside of very specific circumstances, and even in those circumstances (i.e. fair use) you have a legal defense, not a promise to not get sued (a license is literally a promise by a rights-holder to not sue you as long as you follow it’s terms and conditions), so even in circumstances of fair use, they can sue you if they want to and feel that they have a chance of winning.