How to get going with interactive fiction?

Hi,
I’m new to this world, played some adventure games when I was a kid, enjoyed them a lot, and would like to learn more about how they were made. Any recommendations as to what software I should start with? (has to be free, and available either on browser OR Linux, cause I’m not sure I wanna spend money just, dipping my toe in the water, ya know…?) What I’m curious about is what kind of computer science I’d need to learn before I try making any int-fiction - any good books you guys’d care to recommend on the subject (which may not necessarily be Comp Sci textbooks)…? Any good web guides or pages on the subject, for that matter? I guess what I’m looking for here, is a book that makes the Comp Sci part of things FUN, and mixes it in with stuff about how to use that theory to MAKE int-fic…is there anything like THIS on the market?? :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot, hope to be hanging here often :slight_smile:

Inform 7 (inform7.com/) is pretty friendly for non-programmers and has a built-in manual and “cookbook.”

If you go with Inform, Emily Short and Andrew Plotkin have some publicly available source code for games. My first game was made by taking Emily Short’s Glass code and changing it to my own one part at a time.

I think Aaron Reed’s Creating Interactive Fiction with Inform 7 is a bit like what you’re describing (mix of theory, practical, and comp-sci, with easy-to-follow examples), but it’s increasingly expensive to get ahold of. (If you do use it, be aware that not all the code will work with the most recent version of Inform 7; see here for details on what’s changed.)