Animalia second edition & absurdly late post-mortem

Hello! This post-mortem (and post-comp release) is indeed absurdly late but as some have noticed, I am a graduate student in English literature and so this is the earliest opportunity I have had to work on Animalia in any substantial way.

First of all, thanks to everyone who played and took the time to write a review, send me an email, or give me feedback. I’m so pleased everyone enjoyed Animalia as much as they did – it means the world to me.

Animalia began as a children’s middle-grade novel in the summer of 2016. A child was kidnapped by a giant eagle to learn why their littering / speciesist privilege / selfishness / lack of care for the forest? was a Thing He Needed to Change. I don’t remember much about this part of the book because it was bad. But the second part of the book, where the animals of the forest piloted a replica of this young boy in his day to day life, taking him to school, interacting with his parents, trying to talk to his friends – that grabbed my attention and held it. The needlessly didactic forest education section fell away. Soon my dastardly brain spun wild predicaments for my animal friends to navigate. As I filled a notebook with scenarios (the notebook unfortunately fell victim to an errant spilled coffee) I discovered I had a difficult time weaving a coherent, linear narrative from everything I wished to include. I had a concept and hundreds of ideas, but no thread to link them. I shortly became distracted by Life and Other Projects, and, like most nascent book projects, this one fell to the wayside.

I can’t remember when I decided to turn it into an interactive fiction game, or when my interest in IF was reignited – but it was probably around when I played 80 Days. I was late to the party on 80 Days, but it is as close to a perfect game as I can imagine.