disabling some reporting functions

I tried searching for the answer in the topics, but wasn’t sure what to search for, so I apologize if this has already been answered in a different topic. I’m a relative newbie to Inform and am trying to teach myself as I go with various manuals (like Jim Aikin’s) and websites (sibyl moon’s tutorials).

I’m trying to eliminate two of Inform’s automatic reporting functions.

1. I would rather not have Inform report what objects are listed in a room. Currently I’m using this syntax “The steel door, two first level windows, the second level window, a cement back porch, a hose, a plastic kiddie pool, and a steel awning are in the Back.” where the Back is a room. I know that’s causing the extraneous reporting I don’t want, but I don’t know how to place the objects in the room without getting it to report that they’re there when the room is entered.

2. I also would rather not have Inform say that a thing is in a container. Currently I have a hose I need placed in a kiddie pool. I would like only my description of the hose in the pool to show when the pool is examined instead of the double of my description with Inform’s own reporting.

Thanx in advance for any help and ideas.

Hi and welcome to the forum!

For the first thing, if you just don’t want the things to show up in the room description, you can make them “scenery.”

The Back is a room. "You are in back of the house. The cement back porch with a steel awning leads up to the steel door to the north. The first level window and second level window are above the awning." The first level window, the second level window, a cement back porch, and a steel awning are scenery in the Back.

Doors can also be scenery but they won’t be in the room, they’ll be in a direction from the room:

The steel door is a scenery door. It is north of the Back and south of the Kitchen.

(Note that this automatically creates the Kitchen as a room!)