need help setting up vorple with css

Hello, I wonder if anyone can walk me through the process of getting a vorple game to work with styling from a css file. I am not very experienced with css, or vorple. Here’s what I’ve got to work so far:

Setting up a local server and getting the vorple interpreter to work.

Including Vorple Screen Effects and being able to use built-in vorple styles.

What I haven’t figured out:

How to set up a css file so I can style the whole game at once.

I followed the docs to try to make my own vorple style with css, but the style didn’t have any effect, and I don’t know whether I’m doing something wrong in vorple or in css.

Thanks!

Could you post the I7 code and the CSS file? If it doesn’t work, the most likely explanation is that there are problems with the CSS rules. You can also validate the CSS file at jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/#validate_by_upload.

[code]“Testing Cave” by Caleb Wilson.

Include Vorple by Juhana Leinonen.
Include Vorple Screen Effects by Juhana Leinonen.

Release along with the “Vorple” interpreter.

When play begins: say “Midway through life’s journey you find yourself in a dark cave.”

Cave is a room.[/code]

Unfortunately now I’m stuck – in setting up this new code to test with a simple case, I can’t get the vorple interpreter to work at all: on trying to release I get a message saying “You asked to release along with a copy of the ‘Vorple’ in-browser interpreter, but this can’t handle story files which use the Glulx story file format. (The format can be changed on Inform’s Settings panel for a project.)” As far as I know I installed the same version of vorple both times: both this new project, and the old one that worked, are v 3/170429

(I’ll be away from my computer for a while but will be able to see any response to this in a few hours. Thanks!)