intfiction.org

The Interactive Fiction Community Forum
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:32 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: unicode problem
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:34 pm 

Hi,

I started to translate an IF game to my language. I'm a beginner in that. My language has some extra characters. As I knew, in the newer IF compilers/interpreters, it is not a problem to use unicode characters. But when I try to compile the (partially) translated source, I get the following error message:
Code:
The grammar token 'unicode 337' in the sentence 'Understand "kér [something]t [someone]t[unicode 337]l" as querysmalling'   looked to me as if it might be a unicode character, but this isn't something allowed in parsing grammar.

In the first word, there is an unicode character, but it is not a problem. I tried to google it, and it seems, the compiler only allows unicode characters with smaller code number. Is that true? Can I avoid that, and use my special characters somehow?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: unicode problem
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:36 pm 

Sorry, I forgot to write about that I tried to compile the source with gnome-inform7 on Ubuntu.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 4:10 pm 

It looks to me as though the issue is this, from §5.10 of Writing with Inform:

Quote:
The world has a bewildering range of letters, accents, diacritics, markers and signs. Inform tries to support the widest range possible, but the works of IF produced by Inform are programs which then have to be run on a (virtual) computer whose abilities are more constrained: few players will have an Ethiopian font installed, after all. So a degree of caution is called for.

(a) Definitely safe to use. Inform's highest level of support is for the letters found on a typical English typewriter keyboard, including both the $ and £ signs (but not the Yen or Euro symbols ¥ and €), and in addition the following:

ä, á, à, ã, å, â and Ä, Á, À, Ã, Å, Â