Naming/handling multiple similar objects

Hi! I am very new to Inform 7 (used it for just a few days), and I have a question.

I feel like I am missing something obvious, but here goes:

If I have, say, “floor”-objects in multiple rooms, what is a good way to handle this?

Inform does not let me have multiple “floor”-named objects, even if they are marked as scenery and in different rooms.

And if I rename them to something like: “floor of statue room”, then when I try to “kick statue”, Inform asks me if I mean the floor or the actual statue that is also there… which I don’t find very practical.

How is this generally handled?

For multiple similar objects, create a kind of thing.
For a “floor” object in every room:

[code]“Cat Floor”

Lab is a room. Annex is west of Lab.

A floor is a kind of supporter. A floor is scenery. Understand “floor/ground” as a floor.

One floor is in every room.

A cat is in lab.
[/code]

Exactly what I was looking for, thank you!

Another option is to use a backdrop. Under the hood, a backdrop is one single object that I7 drags from room to room. Then you intercept the Inserting it into action and move inserted objects into the room itself.

Hmm hmm. Then again – how can I give different descriptions for these floors in different rooms?

Out of the “One floor is in every room.”, I get the impression that these are indeed objects – in the sense of object-oriented programming… and that each floor owns their properties (like description).

I tried this, which compiles, but the description doesn’t get set at all:

"Test"

A floor is a kind of supporter. A floor is scenery. Understand "floor/ground" as a floor.

The First Room is a room. The description of floor in here is "The ground is grassy here."

And, if I type:

The description of floor is "The ground is grassy here."

…the description is changed in every room.

I’m still kind of confused.