Instead of talking to [someone]?

Hello! I’m relatively new with Inform, and I’ve run into a problem that I can’t figure out.
When the player says “talk to the ferryman,” I would like the conversation with the ferryman to start rather than the game saying “You say hello to Ferryman.”
I figured I should use the “Instead” feature to achieve this, but it doesn’t seem to be working.

[code]The River West is a room. The River is east of the Forest Entrance.
Ferryman is a man in the River West. Understand “the ferryman” as Ferryman. The ferry is a rideable vehicle in the River West.

Instead of going to River East when the player is not on the ferry:
say “The river is wide and deep. There is no way you can cross it alone.”.

Instead of talking to Ferryman:
say "‘Are you looking to cross the river?’ the ferryman asks you. ‘The price for a ride is 300 gold.’ [paragraph break]
‘I don’t have 300 gold,’ you tell the ferryman. [paragraph break] ‘Alas, that is my price. Unless you can give me something more valuable than gold.’
[paragraph break] ‘What would that be?’ [paragraph break] ‘I have been cursed to this river for centuries now.
My soul forced to ferry others back and forth for eternity. If someone were to offer me the solution to my predicament,
I would give them any ride they pleased before I parted. Can you help me?’.[/code]

This code compiles just fine with no errors, but when I enter “talk to the ferryman” or “talk to Ferryman” it simply says
“You say hello to Ferryman” without displaying my written paragraph. What am I doing wrong?

EDIT: Formatting.

When I copy and paste your code above into Inform7 (6.33/6M62 - Linux), it totally fails to compile with a host of errors…

Stripping quite a bit to ignore the errors for now, it seems you have to define “talking to” as an action:

Talking to is an action applying to one visible thing.
Understand "talk to [someone]" as talking to.

The River West is a room.