Beginner with a few questions

Hey there,

I’m brand new to inform, working on my first game. I’ve got some questions if you experts wouldn’t mind indulging me. Sorry for the long post, but I saved them up so I didn’t flood the forum.

Question: Does this forum or the Inform community in general have a Discord?

I’m in the Narrative Games discord but they don’t have an Inform channel and I feel awkward asking Inform questions. Also it’s pretty quiet in there most of the time. It would be cool to hang out around people that are making IF and talking about it.

Question: Can I be more efficient with some of my declarations?

Just for example, I have some Instead rules laid out like so:

[code]Instead of going to the Triangle Hole by cog boat:
say “There’s no way you could haul the boat out of the canal. You’ll have to get out.”;

Instead of going to the Circular Hole by cog boat:
say “There’s no way you could haul the boat out of the canal. You’ll have to get out.”;

Instead of going to the Square Hole by cog boat:
say “There’s no way you could haul the boat out of the canal. You’ll have to get out.”;[/code]

This works fine, but instinctively I want to write something more along the lines of:

Instead of going to either the Triangle Hole, the Circular Hole, or the Square Hole by cog boat: say "There's no way you could haul the boat out of the canal. You'll have to get out.";
This doesn’t work.

I tried the extension Alternatives by Eric Eve, but I couldn’t find a single scenario where I wanted to simplify what I had written into this format where it actually worked. I just feel like I am writing lots of inefficient little rules like this and I’m worried it’s because I don’t understand that there’s a better way to do it.

Question: What am I doing wrong here?