General Code for Multiple Scene Endings

Hello, all:

I’ve been using Inform 7 on and off for a couple of years now and this is something I’ve thought for a long time but have never written it – the documentation for how to code Inform is horrible.

That being said, can someone help me with the coding for a scene? The circumstances are:

when dynamite is lit, scene begins

scene ends after four turns

scene can end multiple ways: one, the character blows his hand off (ending the game); two, the character blows up the fish (which is the desired ending), third, the character blows nothing up, it just explodes harmlessly on the ground.

The code below doesn’t work, it’s a mixture of different iterations. I can’t get the compiler to like it:

bangbang is a scene.

bangbang begins when dynalit is 4.

Every turn during bangbang:
decrease dynalit by 1.

bangbang ends in failure:
if dynalit is 0:
if player is carrying litdyanamite;
end if;
end if.

when bangbang ends in failure:
say “The dynamite blows up in your hand! You are started when you see fragments of bones and flesh scatter around you until a split second you feel the pain of getting your hand blown off. I think that…yes, I was afraid of that…[paragraph break]* * * * * YOU HAVE DIED * * * * *”;
end the game finally.

bangbang ends in success when fishies is 1.

when bangbang ends in success:
now litdynamite is nowhere;
now matchflag is 0;
now fishies is 4;
say “There is a brief moment of hush followed by a huge explosion! Water sprays up into the air, reddened by fish blood and chunks of trout like buckshot. There is the sickening pitter-patter of fish flesh as it lands on the wooden bridge.”;
increase score by 1;

when bangbang ends:
now litdynamite is nowhere;