intfiction.org

The Interactive Fiction Community Forum
It is currently Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:18 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:16 am 

Hi all

I'm very new to Inform and was wondering if I could get some help.

I've been tearing my hair out trying to compile a game that worked just fine before and now, seemingly for no reason, won't. And what makes it even more boggling to me is that it's an error with an extension. It's Conversational Framework by Eric Eve, and the errors are:

Code:
In Book 2 - Abbreviated commands for addressing the current interlocutor in the extension Conversation Framework by Eric Eve:

Problem. In the sentence 'let np be the number of visible people who are not the player'  , I was expecting to read a description of values, but instead found some text that I couldn't understand - 'visible people who are not the player'.

I was trying to match this phrase:

number of (visible people who are not the player - description of values)

This was what I found out:

visible people who are not the player = something unrecognised

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Problem. In the sentence 'let the interlocutor be a random visible person who is not the player'  , I was expecting to read a description of values, but instead found some text that I couldn't understand - 'visible person who is not the player'.

a/-- random (visible person who is not the player - description of values)

visible person who is not the player = something unrecognised

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In Book 3 - Greeting Protocols, Chapter 2 - Greeting in the extension Conversation Framework by Eric Eve:

Problem. In the sentence 'now the noun is a random visible person who is not the player'  , I was expecting to read a description of values, but instead found some text that I couldn't understand - 'visible person who is not the player'.