intfiction.org

The Interactive Fiction Community Forum
It is currently Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:56 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: code 1 error
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 5:57 pm
Posts: 419
I have been editing a game for several hours, and what I am doing is really quite pedestrian--I am adapting the game, using Eric Eve's Epistemology. All I am really doing--other than streamlining rules and routines--is adding 'thoughts' to pertinent items in the game, as a means of including in-game hints. Of course, quite a number of those thoughts are modified by text substitutions, so that the thoughts would change to reflect the circumstances. I haven't done any testing of anything I've changed yet, I didn't feel I needed to yet, because all I've done today was edit quoted text, thoughts, etc. (I think). Finally I've decided to do a little testing of a certain area, so I clicked 'Go'. It seemed to compile like normal, and the 'success' screen popped up. But then a 'Translating the Source - Failure' screen appeared, saying it was a Code 1 error. I am tearing my hair out trying to figure out what I did, because up to today, the game compiled without a problem--which makes me doubt that it had to do with E. E.'s extension (the error report mentions that some interaction with an extension may be at fault). Or was it something I did with the 'thoughts'--could I have over-complicated the text substitutions (some of the 'thoughts' change 5-6 times)??

Thanks!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: code 1 error
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:56 pm
Posts: 5921
The easiest way to stumble into a compiler crash is to put the wrong punctuation on an if statement.

http://inform7.com/mantis/view.php?id=1837

I'm not sure what else to suggest other than commenting out blocks of code. If you're using source control, you can go back to earlier versions and see where the error turned up.

It's always wise to compile frequently.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: code 1 error
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 5:57 pm
Posts: 419
Thanks, Zarf. It's entirely possible that I did something like that. You know, I just now realized that I may have left some markers in the code--sometimes I type [///] where I leave off, if I'm going to take a break, and don't bother to remove it, and I may have left off the brackets.

I just looked and that's precisely what I did. And it was immediately after an Instead rule with an 'if'. Now it compiles perfectly.

Thank you so much.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group