Before putting on doesn't work?

Hello all. I recently started learning inform7. I had been interested in inform in general for some time but found the previous incarnations of the language to be a little too daunting. Inform7 seemed to be much more intuitive.

I’ve run into what is either a bug or I’m just being stupid. I want to be able to gate wearing something. Here’s a bare-bones standalone script that demonstrates the issue:

dangerous clothing is a kind of thing and wearable. the mysterious cloak is dangerous clothing.

before putting on dangerous clothing:
    say "Your instincts as an explorer tell you this is a very bad idea.";
    stop the action;

Ancient Tomb is a room. The player and the mysterious cloak are here.

The expected result is that I’m blocked from wearing the cloak. Instead, it always let’s me put it on. When I run the RULES command beforehand, it doesn’t even list my before rule at all, like it simply got ignored.

I also tried it this way:

instead of putting on dangerous clothing, say "Your instincts as an explorer tell you this is a very bad idea."

This gets ignored as well. But blocking removing clothing works. If I add this:

instead of taking off dangerous clothing, say "You can't, it's cursed."

It works perfectly. So if I did hit a bug, is there any workaround to this?

This is just a bit of fiddly terminology: the action for putting on clothing is not “putting on” but “wearing”. So you need to say “instead of wearing dangerous clothing”.

(The reason you don’t get an error is because “putting on” is also an action in Inform; it’s the action for “put kettle on stove”.)

3 Likes