Chapbook audio error help

Twine Version: 2.8.1 - Story Format: Chapbook 1.2.3

Can anyone help with this issue. I am completely new to Twine and coding in general. I’m using the current online version of Twine and have a chromebook - don’t think that should make a difference on the web version but thought I’d mention just in case - and saw what seems to be the only YouTube tutorial on the matter (by codeVA curriculum) which said that audio could be saved to google Drive and then shared so that anyone with a link can view and then the ID could be inserted into the code to make the audio play.

I’ve been trying to add a voice-over type audio and also some background audio (using both the ambient and sound effect codes/tags) to my story but keep getting the following error message:

• Warning: sound: Could not resume playing sound effect “intro” (Failed to load because no supported source was found. (copied and pasted exactly as it appears on Twine ‘test from here’).

Please can anyone help with this - trying to complete a project for Friday 29th April 2024 (even after this any help would be greatly appreciated for future projects)?

2 Likes

I’m not familiar with embedding Google Drive content in a web page, but this article seems to be what you’re looking for…

https://kb.blackbaud.com/knowledgebase/Article/121327

…the trick is to produce a valid URL that targets the audio file itself. If you paste a URL into the browser address bar and it opens the audio file itself with a simple controller, you’ve got the right URL. If it goes to a web page that presents the audio file, you’ve got the wrong type of URL.

Let us know if this helps.

Edit: It seems like the article I shared was possibly about embedding the Drive “page” in an <iframe> the trick is to get the src from the <audio> element in that Google Drive page, if that’s the case. In order to help you better, please share the link to your audio file.

2 Likes